News Politics

House of Reps receives bill to create three new states in South-West


The House of Representatives has received a new bill seeking the creation of three new states in the South-West.

Oluwole Oke, the lawmaker sponsoring the bill, told Peoples Gazette on Tuesday.

Mr Oke, who represents Obokun/Oriade federal constituency, would seek to persuade at least two-thirds of the legislators at the lower chamber to support the dissolution of the local government areas and the establishment of Oke-Ogun, Ijebu, and Ife-Ijesa as independent states.

According to him, Ijebu should be recognised as a state with Ijebu-Ode as its capital, proposing Remo North, Ikenne, Ijebu East, Ijebu North-East, Ijebu Ode, Odogbolu, Ogun Waterside, and Sagamu as its local government areas.

The bill seeks the recognition of Oke-Ogun as a state, with Iseyin as its capital and Ogbomosho North, Ogbomosho South, Olorunsogo, Kajola, Irepo, Oorerelope, Saki-East, Saki-West, Atisbo, Itesiwaju, Iwajowa will become local government areas.

For the proposed Ife-Ijesa state, Ife Central, Ife South, Ife North, Ife East, Ilesa West, Ilesa East, Atakunmosa East, Atakunmosa West, Boluwaduro, Oboku and Oriade will become the local government areas.

If successfully passed, Mr Oke’s bill will make the South-West currently comprising six states — Ekiti, Lagos, Ogun, Ondo, Osun and Oyo — the region with the highest number of states in Nigeria.

“I wish to forward the above-mentioned bill to your office for further necessary legislative action to enable me to move same in our great Green Chamber, sir,” Mr Oke stated in a letter addressed to the parliament’s clerk.

Source: Peoples Gazette

Disclaimer: No copyright infringement intended. All rights and credits reserved to respective owner(s).

Leave a Reply