News Politics

Tinubu’s service chiefs are consummate intelligence experts: Wounded Servicemen

President Bola Tinubu and new service chiefs

The Centre for Wounded Servicemen and Fallen Heroes Supports Fund (CFWS&FHSF) says service chiefs appointed by President Bola Tinubu are consummate security and intelligence experts. 

Cecil Esekhaigbe, CFWS&FHSF’s board of trustees chair, said this in a statement on Tuesday. He lauded Mr Tinubu for the appointments.

“They are consummate security and intelligence experts whose experience would help attenuate the potential adverse consequences of (the) extant security crisis in our nation’s development,” noted Mr Esekhaigbe.

Mr Esekhaigbe added that the centre was particularly elated by the appointments because the new service chiefs belonged to the generation of selfless officers ready to sacrifice their lives for the country.

“We convey our felicitations, prayers and best wishes on this joyous and auspicious occasion as you double down on your efforts to reposition the Nigeria security architecture,” the centre stated. “You all have the skills, security leadership, intelligence, and strategy to surmount all forms of crimes in our society. We urge you to bring to bear your specialist, wealth of experience and expertise to ride off insecurity in our father’s land.”

He said the centre was confident that the newly appointed service chiefs’ skills, passion and exposure would tame the security monsters confronting the country to the barest minimum.

Mr Esekhaigbe charged the new service chiefs to be steadfast in service and to work towards promoting peace, unity and hope in the country.

Before the new appointments, the president had approved the immediate retirement of the national security adviser, service chiefs, the inspector general of police, and the comptroller-general of customs, with immediate effect.

Nuhu Ribadu is now the National Security Adviser, Maj.-Gen. Christopher Musa, Chief of Defence Staff, Maj.-Gen. Taofeeq Lagbaja, Chief of Army Staff, Rear Admiral E.A. Ogalla, Chief of Naval Staff, and AVM H.B. Abubakar, Chief of Air Staff. Others are DIG Kayode Egbetokun as Acting Inspector General of Police, Maj.-Gen. EPA Undiandeye, Chief of Defence Intelligence, Col. Adebisi Onasanya, Commander Brigade of Guards, and Lt.-Col. Moshood Abiodun Yusuf, Guards Battalion, Asokoro, Abuja.

Also appointed are Lt.-Col. Auwalu Baba Inuwa 177, Guards Battalion, Keffi, Nasarawa, Lt.-Col. Mohammed J. Abdulkarim, 102 Guards Battalion, Suleja, Niger, Lt.- Col. Olumide A. Akingbesote, 176 Guards Battalion, Gwagwalada, Abuja, among others.

The newly appointed service chiefs are to act in their positions, pending their confirmation in accordance with the Constitution.


Source: Peoples Gazette

Disclaimer: No copyright infringement intended. All rights and credits reserved to respective owner(s).

Leave a Reply