News Politics

INEC releases full list of elected lawmakers for Nigeria’s 10th Assembly

Nigerian Senate
Nigerian Senate

Nigerian Senate floor used to illustrate the story (Credit: Twitter)

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released the full list of the winners and newly elected members of the National Assembly of the February 25 parliamentary election. 

Nigeria held its seventh national (presidential and federal parliamentary) elections since 1999. 

The National Assembly has two legislative chambers, with the Senate comprising 109 legislators and the House of Representatives comprising 306 lawmakers. 

The All Progressive Congress (APC) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) secured a large number of seats. The Labour Party and the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) are other parties able to claim a few seats.

INEC is expected to present certificates of return to the newly elected lawmakers in the Senate Tuesday (today).

We have recently deactivated our website’s comment provider in favour of other channels of distribution and commentary. We encourage you to join the conversation on our stories via our Facebook, Twitter and other social media pages.

Source: Peoples Gazette

Disclaimer: No copyright infringement intended. All rights and credits reserved to respective owner(s).

Leave a Reply